Features / Song of the Month

Song of the Month | Nina Simone

After the news that the upcoming film on the life of Nina Simone was wrapped up in controversy I decided to take a journey through Ms Simone’s extensive back catalogue and life story. While I didn’t get to learn everything I did learn a lot. I found the astounding ‘Four Women’ , ‘Young, Gifted and Black’ and ‘Mississippi¬†Goddamn’.

Out of all of the songs I’ve listened to in the past the last song I listened to, ‘Little Liza Jane’ stuck in my mind the most. It’s an old folk song that dates back to 1916 and was described as a ‘Southern dialect song’.

There have been many versions of Liza Jane over the years but I love Simone’s version for it’s upbeat, ragtime feel. There’s so much more of Simone that I need to discover but if it’s all like this tune then I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

